St Andrew, Glencairn

Glencairn Methodist Church

Home Page

Hot News

Staff and contact details

Sunday Services

Weekday activities

Prayer notes

The Church building

Some past events

Other links


Take the new Visual Tour of the church.

Read a commentary of some features of the visual tour.

Early History:

As a result of a decision by the Diocesan Council, the church was built about 1970 and consecrated on St Andrew’s Day, 30 November 1971 by the Bishop of Connor and the President of the Irish Methodist Church. It was a daughter church of St Mark’s Ballysillan. It was given independent parish status in 1982, but has always been in the cure of a Bishop’s Curate.

The architects were Shanks, Leighton, Kennedy and Fitzgerald, Belfast.

Succession of clergy:

Curates of St Mark's Ballysillan, with responsibility for Glencairn:

1968-70: Cecil Mitchell

1970-73: Ted Woods

1973-82: Walter Lewis


Bishop's Curates of the parish:

1982-84: Walter Lewis

1984-90: Mervyn Kingston

1991- 2013: Team ministry - Captain Scott McDonald (Church Army) - Evangelist in Charge and Revd Ken Houston (NSM) - Auxiliary Priest, joined by Sister Valerie Thom (CA) in 2006.

2013 -: Rev Emma Rutherford, Minister in Charge and Rev Ken Houston (NSM)

2015 -: Rev Emma Rutherford also in Charge of St Columba's Whiterock


St Andrew's Church features in two books:

"Churches of the Diocese of Connor - an Illustrated History" by Ernest V. Scott, Published in his memory by the nephews and nieces of Mr Scott, circa 1994,  page 36,
"Towers, Spires and Pinnacles - A history of the cathedrals and churches of the Church of Ireland" by Sam Hutchison, Published by Wordwell Ltd, Bray, 2003, ISBN 1 869857 57 7, pages 129 - 130.